Carrie Mae Weems Talks Drinking With Nina Simone, Toni Morrison

 

Carrie Mae Weems "From Here I Saw What Happened"

Artist Carrie Mae Weems once spent a night in Paris toasting with Toni Morrison and knocking back dranks with Nina Simone. She spoke to Life + Times about her singular evening:

We walk into the Embassy and across this palatial room there was Toni Morrison sitting alone. When she saw these sisters dressed to the nines, she waved us over. I couldn’t believe the esteemed Toni Morrison was sitting alone at a gathering meant to honor her! I grabbed a waiter and ordered a bottle of champagne and within three minutes Mary Lovelace is in her lap.

The night was a total success, we shared stories and acted like we were in our living room. Me and Mary were leaving, giddy, and a friend drives by, sees me, stops, and says ‘Carrie Mae! What you doing in my neighborhood?’ I said ‘I’m going with you!’ and he says “Good, cuz I’m going to meet Nina Simone!” We pile into cabs and we walk into this bar and there’s Nina, sitting alone. I couldn’t believe in two separate corners of Paris, these two legendary women were sitting alone in corners. I’d never met this woman before in my life and the FIRST thing she said to me is “Girl, I wish i had someone to love me.” So I sat there and I drank with Nina Simone and listened to her.

Check out the full story at Life + Times.

Leave a Reply

